Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


"Paying It Forward" in Social Networking
July 17, 2007, 2:34 am
Filed under: Networking/Social Media, Thoughts

I love this commercial. I hope everyone has seen the movie Pay It Forward. If not, I recommend you drop what you’re doing right now and go watch it. Kidding! (sort of)…

This Liberty Mutual commercial is a Utopian example of how social networking ought to work. You do something nice for one of your connections (or for someone you want to connect with), and either they pay it forward to someone else, or better yet, someone witnesses your act of kindness and passes it along. And eventually, the kindness comes full circle right back to you.

If only we all operated like this. Passing the kindness along to each other. In a world where so many ask “what’s in it for me?” we would better serve each other asking “what can I do to help you?”

Zig Ziglar says that when you help enough other people get what they want, you automatically get what you want. In our recruiting world, that could mean a placement, a new client, or a long-term professional relationship.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Absolutely. And the most difficult part of this is to focus on others (one might call them “your neighbor”) more than yourself.

In my life, in order to do that (which I don’t do as much as I’d like), I’ve got to consciously slow down and allow time to help.

I thought to myself, “Dan, when’s the last time that you left 10 or 15 minutes earlier than you otherwise would have and looked for an opportunity to help someone on the side of the road?”

Answer? ummmmm….never?

Dan

Comment by Dan Sweet




Leave a Reply

