Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Eight Things You Might Not Have Wanted To Know About Me
July 28, 2007, 3:49 pm
Filed under: Networking/Social Media, Thoughts

Dan Sweet, who writes one of my favorite blogs, FRACAT, recently ‘tagged’ me on a post he wrote revealing some little-known secrets about himself. So now I am forced to do the same. Thanks a lot, Dan. 🙂 Just kidding….anyone who knows me knows I am not a very secretive person and am more than willing to share just about anything you want to know. So without any further adieu, here we go!

THE RULES:

1. Post these rules before you give you the facts.
2. List 8 random facts about yourself.
3. At the end of your post, choose (tag) 8 people and list their names (linking to them)
4. Leave them a comment on their blog letting them know they’ve been tagged!

Eight Random Facts About Amybeth:

  1. I have been researching for over 5 years now, but I am relatively new to the blogging scene – I’ve only been at this for about 9 months!
  2. When I was in 6th grade, our English classes had an annual ‘Battle of the Books’. We were divided into teams of 3 (I think?) and we had a list of 50 books that we had to read. The Battle part of it was a competition between teams consisting of questions about the details of the books. I wanted to win so bad that I read 45 of the 50 books on the list. My team won, of course 🙂
  3. I graduated from the University of Florida with honors in 3 1/2 years and was waiting tables at a restaurant nearly two years following graduation. Proof that going to college and getting good grades doesn’t always get you your dream job! (there are other ways of achieving success in the world)
  4. When I was a little girl, my mom used to let me lick the batter from the bowl when she made brownies or cake. (there are raw eggs in cake and brownie batter) She also used to make me little raw hamburger meatballs when she would make burger patties. (RAW meat) Oh, and I also ate a live fuzzy caterpillar when I was 3. I am a healthy adult today and I rarely get sick. Proof that you don’t have to be a germaphobe with your kids. In fact, let them eat dirt from time to time – it builds up their immune system!
  5. I am 28 years old, I am single, I have no children, and I have never been married. Guess I’m just waiting for the right man for me! I’ll wait forever if that’s what it takes.
  6. I take guidance from people who have fruit on the tree. Don’t get me wrong, I allow people to share their opinions with me, but I’m very selective about the people from whom I will take advice. Think about it – if you take financial advice from your neighbor, they’ll probably be your neighbor for a long time!
  7. I have a deep-seeded faith in God and I attribute everything that I have accomplished to Him.
  8. I LOVE traveling, especially road trips! The longest road trip (driving) I’ve ever taken was from Fort Myers, FL to El Paso, TX (27 hrs). Other long road trips I’ve been on include Cincinnati-Fort Myers and back, East Hampton, CT-Orlando and back, Cincinnati-Kansas City and back, Cincinnati-Raleigh, NC and back, and Cincinnati-Toms River, NJ and back (all of these trips completed start-to-finish within 4 days). And by the way, I LOVE meeting interesting people – if you’re ever interested in meeting me, just give me a place where I can work during the day and somewhere to lay my head at night and I would love to come meet you!

The people I am tagging to continue this chain of revealment are:

  1. Michael Notaro of Feed The Beagle!
  2. Simon Meth of Sitting Xlegged
  3. Moises Lopez of The Sourcing Corner
  4. Gretchen Ledgard of JobSyntax
  5. Rick Turoczy of More Than A Living
  6. Suzy Tonini of Delotte Consulting (with a blog at RecruitingBlogs)
  7. Jim Stroud of Jim Stroud 2.0
  8. Leslie O’Connor of Search Wizards

Some of these people I know personally, and some are people whose work I admire and would like to know! Looking forward to their 8 Things…

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Brilliant. Eight more things that will make me seem even more boring than I already do. I guess I better get to work. 😉

Comment by Rick Turoczy

I’m on it. When The Goddess asks I must respond!

Thanks,

Simon

Comment by Simon

Amy –

You tagged Moises Lopez, and he tagged me. In thanks for your assistance, these electrons are for you!

Troy from NotJobs

Comment by Troy Bettinger SPHR

Glad you participated – thanks!

My only question is why would someone drive for 27 hours with El Paso as their destination?

Admittedly, El Paso is better than most places because it’s in Texas. But there just ain’t much there!

For those of your readers who are non-Texans, almost half of the drive from Florida to El Paso (on the Western edge of Texas) is through the Great State of Texas.

Just in case anyone was … you know … interested…

Dan

Comment by Dan Sweet

Tell me about it! When I left Miami in a 35 ft. motorhome, it took forever to get out of Florida and forever and ever to get out of Texas. El Paso reminded me of a city with a “Dusk ‘Till Dawn” feeling to it…kind of eery, actually. Yeah- Amybeth, why would El Paso be a destination???

Comment by Suzanne

Tell me about it! When I left Miami in a 35 ft. motorhome, it took forever to get out of Florida and forever and ever to get out of Texas. El Paso reminded me of a city with a “Dusk ‘Till Dawn” feeling to it…kind of eery, actually. Yeah- Amybeth, why would El Paso be a destination???

Comment by Suzanne




Leave a Reply

