Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


New Position: Week One
September 24, 2007, 5:13 am
Filed under: Research

I am in my hotel room in Portland, OR. I just took a (much needed) bath and shower after a weekend in the DIRT (more on that later!), and I am reflecting back on this week, post-SourceCon and also my first week with Waggener Edstrom Worldwide.

Public relations is relatively new to me, so first order of business was flying out to Seattle on Tuesday evening for account training on Wednesday. I learned a ton about the PR industry which will be quite helpful! As a researcher, it is imperative that you understand the industries in which you are searching. If you don’t know what you’re looking for, it doesn’t really matter what you do to find it. I think the Cheshire Cat said something to that effect to Alice in Alice in Wonderland….
“Which road should I take?” she asked the cat.
“Where do you want to get to?” the cat asked helpfully.
“I don’t know,” admitted Alice.
“Then,” advised the cat, “any road will take you there.”

Having basically one industry in which to search is going to be wonderful. I have always firmly believed in specialization for researchers, NOT JUST recruiters. Researchers who are stretched too thin by having to search in lots of industries cannot be expected to be effective in their efforts. It’s like trying to put your two hands into 5 buckets of water simultaneously – it can’t be done.

Thursday I spent the day in Seattle learning about some of the practice areas in which I will be researching. I also started getting to know the best ways in which to work with the staffing and HR folks I am connected to. As a researcher, I think it is essential to develop good relationships with the people who you will be supporting. Learn how to best communicate with each other, and make sure you communicate often. As a recruiter, not communicating with your researcher means that they may be searching in a direction that will not get you the best results possible, so do it often. And if you are a researcher supporting a recruiter who has some challenges communicating with you, take the matter into your own hands and forge those lines of correspondence yourself. The door swings both ways!

Thursday evening, I flew back to Portland where I will be until the end of September. After work on Friday, I threw some clothes into my rental car and drove east to Bend, OR to spend the weekend with my research buddy Suzy Tonini! She invited me to her home and she and her husband Ron took me camping up at Lava Lake in the Cascade Mountains.

Next week will be more acclimation to the staffing team in Portland and getting some goals set. I will be able to return to Cincinnati at the end of the month with lots of tangibles to dig my heels in and get going with my new position. Even though I have enjoyed all the new information I have learned and the new friends I have made over the last 3 weeks, I am looking forward to going home next weekend.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

