Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Cool Tool Alert: Jelly! for Remote Workers
October 25, 2007, 7:42 pm
Filed under: Cool Tool Alert, Networking/Social Media

This isn’t really a “tool” per se, however I think it certainly should be categorized under ‘cool’!

Those who know me know that my only complaint about working remotely is that it gets lonely from time to time. Sure, I get my best work done when I’m not disturbed but there are some rare moments when I crave some human interaction!

I subscribe to an RSS feed for Trendhunter.com, and recently I was reviewing some interesting new technology when I came across this video for Jelly. Apparently, this is just what I’ve been looking for!

So, what is Jelly?
Jelly is casual coworking. We invite people to work from our home for the day. We provide chairs and sofas, wireless internet, and interesting people to talk to, collaborate with, and bounce ideas off of. You bring a laptop (or whatever you need to get work done) and a friendly disposition.
Jelly started in NYC in February of 2006 when roommates Amit and Luke realized that they loved working from home, but they missed the creative brainstorming, sharing, and camaraderie of a traditional office. So they started inviting friends to come work from their home one day a week. They soon found that working in close proximity to new and interesting people every couple weeks resulted in new ideas and interesting conversations.

I’ve always been a firm believer in the idea that you can learn something new from every person you encounter in life. This is a cool idea in my book.

So….I decided to bring Jelly! to Cincinnati! If you live in the Greater Cincinnati area, please visit the NEW Jelly! in Cincinnati page for information on the FIRST meeting, to be held on Thursday, November 15th. Or, you can click here to sign up directly.

Here’s a list of some of the locations that already have Jelly! groups started. Check it out! You never know who you might meet. You may learn something new, try something different, or perhaps you might even find a new job opportunity! 🙂

New York City (Manhattan & Brooklyn – the ORIGINAL Jelly!)
Atlanta, GA *new!*
Austin, TX *new!*
JellyInPerth – Freelancer Friday *new!*
Chicago
Cincinnati, OH *new!*
Delhi, India
Denver, CO
Philadelphia, PA
Portland, OR *new!*
Portsmouth, NH *new!*
San Francisco, CA *new!*
Singapore, Southeast Asia
Sydney, Australia *new!*
Tel Aviv, Israel *new!*
Tampa Bay, FL (Tampa/Clearwater/St. Petersburg)
Washington, D.C.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I also work remotely. There are so many great benefits but I completely understand that need to interact with people face to face. Cool concept!

Cheers,

Nik
recruitnik.net

Comment by Recruitnik

I wish I could come! I have known about jelly in NYC for some time now, and wished for one in my area. The only issue is that I now work full time for a firm in Dayton! Perhaps a weekend jelly?

Comment by Jbud1




Leave a Reply

