Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Tourism and Networking
November 3, 2007, 5:43 am
Filed under: Networking/Social Media, Research

I’ve been thinking about changing my blog’s name lately to the Networking Goddess! It seems as though everywhere I go I meet really interesting people who happen to be what my company needs! Just goes to show you that you should always keep your antenna up no matter what you’re doing or where you’re going.

I spent this past week in San Francisco. The purpose of my trip was to attend Visible Path’s Corporate Social Network Design Council. My research colleague Suzy Tonini brought this conference to my attention and I could not register fast enough! I am very glad that I went because there was a lot of great information shared at this one day event and the room was filled with some very interesting people. I recommend checking out Visible Path’s product; the concept is fantastic and I especially found it applicable in the world of PR.

Upon my arrival in San Francisco, I met up with another research colleague and dear friend, Dan Harris. Dan became my tour guide around the San Francisco area for the next several days and I was so thankful to have his company. For anyone who doesn’t know Dan, I encourage you to get to know him. Dan is a very talented sourcer for VeriSign and one of the nicest guys I know. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him without a huge smile on his face. He tells me that it’s because he has so much to be happy about!

Dan took me to all the best tourist spots in San Francisco. We drove down Lombard Street (San Francisco’s crookedest street), visited the Golden Gate Bridge, went to the Japanese Tea Garden in the Golden Gate Park, walked around Pier 39 and saw the sea lions out there, went up in Coit Tower to overlook the entire city, rode the old cable cars, and of course we went out to Alcatraz Island. All in all, we crammed about a week’s worth of tourist activities into about 2 days. We took some videos and I interviewed Dan about his research background as well; look for the interview on Jim Stroud’s Recruiter’s Lounge soon!

On the boat ride coming back from Alcatraz, Dan and I sat up on the upper deck of the boat next to a lady named Jill. We started talking and found out that Jill lives Cleveland, OH (about 3 ½ hours from where I live). Small world! Turns out, Jill actually used to be an internet researcher for Bayer in Germany, and she just finished working for the FBI. Even smaller world! Jill told me that now she is a German translator. I just about fell off my chair, because it just so happens that my company, Waggener Edstrom, is looking for a Sr. Translation Manager right now. Jill then told me that she is the president of the NE Ohio chapter of the American Translators Association, and she asked me how long I was supposed to be in town because the reason she was in San Francisco is that the ATA was having their annual conference there that week, and on Thursday they would be having a career fair. I’m completely serious about this – you just cannot make this stuff up. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing! I called up my manager as soon as possible and let her know what I had just learned, and asked if it would be okay to stay for a couple extra days to attend this conference. She said absolutely, so I made plans to attend the ATA conference armed with nothing more than a small handful of business cards and a cool story as to why I was there.

I took my lunch hour on Tuesday and got to visit the Yahoo! campus in Palo Alto. Dan was meeting up with some sourcers there for lunch and I was invited to come along. We geeked out over SourceCon and other research things while we ate at the Yahoo cafeteria, and then we got a tour of the facility – awesome place! We also got to go upstairs and meet a couple of the other sourcers. There are about 30 sourcers total; big team! I always enjoy meeting like minds.

I was also fortunate enough to be in town when the earthquake happened! We were walking down the street when the ground started to move, and I looked up and the glass in the building we were walking past started to shake, as did the building! People started rushing out of the restaurant and I just stood there, wondering if I had really just experienced an earthquake. Upon checking the news when I returned to my hotel room, I found out it had been a 5.6. I thought to myself, ‘I’ve now experienced enough of what California has to offer and it’s time to go home!’

Wednesday and Thursday I attended networking functions with the ATA conference in addition to the conference itself, and I met lots of translators and a couple who will be excellent candidates for our position. I also have a new friend in Jill as we share much in common. She hung out with Dan and myself for the rest of the evening, and her friend Paula showed us a great little local sushi restaurant. So all this from the sole purpose of attending a social networking conference. You just never know who you’re going to meet, regardless of whether you are out for the purpose of networking or if you’re just out goofing around doing tourist stuff. Always keep your eyes open for opportunities to meet new people because you never know what might happen!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great Post and write-up. Thanks Amybeth! -Dan

Comment by dandharris

[…] my antenna up because you really don’t know who is going to cross your path next. Please read this story about a trip I made to San Francisco two Octobers ago – a perfect example of […]

Pingback by The Importance of Networking « Amybeth Hale - Research Goddess




Leave a Reply

