Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


"I know you’re a busy man…."
February 4, 2008, 3:39 pm
Filed under: Networking/Social Media

The following LinkedIn connection request I received recently is an example for the argument of responsible networking, because last time I checked, I was a female! 🙂

“Amybeth Hale,

I know you are a busy man but I was just browsing your profile and want to get linked with you. My name is xxx and I’m with ABC.

ABC is propelled by a team of efficient & committed individuals having acquired their professional acumen from IIT’s and Harvard’s, and have been offering IT services at relatively low effective cost with high development quality with an established on-time/on-budget delivery Guarantee.

Thanks in Advance,
xxx
Vice President, ABC Software
[email address removed]”

I’m not even sure what the purpose of this note is? It’s not asking for my expertise, or offering me a career opportunity at least from what I can gather? This is what I meant in an earlier post by taking the time to read the profile of the person you’re reaching out to 🙂 I mean come on, I even have a photo up on my LinkedIn profile, and I think I look like a girl!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

lol, gotta love those seemingly random requests. I say random because clearly this person doesn’t know you or really appear that they want to. It would be more funny if it weren’t so insulting.

Comment by Scott

Yes, no mistake possible you look like a girl. Although I only believe a fraction of what’s being said online, your gender seems to be “female”.

I fully agree, with the point you are making. In fact it’s sad, especially because there is absolutely no point in the whole mail. At least he could have tried to sell you a vacuum cleaner for Mrs. Hale…

The frustrating part is that there is little we can do about it. It feels like email, potentially useful, but getting 800+ useless pieces of junk daily, it’s becoming a burden…

Anyway Amybeth you are doing an absolutely superb job in spreading the word about our sometimes very misunderstood occupation (or should I say obsession :-)) of good honest quality research.

And quality and research will allways prevail..

Comment by Hootless

It is too bad that they didn’t explain the difference between men and women at “Harvard’s.”

Hysterical.

Thanks for sharing, you just can’t make this stuff up.

Comment by Recruitnik




Leave a Reply

