Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Twitter mini-experiment – Results
March 21, 2008, 7:29 pm
Filed under: Blogging, Networking/Social Media, Research

All this week, I decided to run a little (secret) mini-experiment on my blog traffic that came from Twitter, just to see what kind of traffic would come from my Twitter account. For those of you who don’t know, I own both www.amybethhale.com and www.researchgoddess.com, and both point here to my blog. However, I don’t use researchgoddess.com as my primary URL (yet). In knowing this, I decided to change my website listed on Twitter to www.researchgoddess.com, and I also noted on a couple of tweets references to posts I made by directing people to www.researchgoddess.com. I wanted to see who would visit based on my tweets and hits from my Twitter account. Here’s what I found:

  1. I signed up for Twitter months ago. I had exactly 0 people following me as of March 8th (one week before I started my experiment). To date, I have 144 followers.
  2. In the last 7 days, I have had 49 referrals to my website from Twitter (coming from researchgoddess.com and/or clicks on my Twitter page)
  3. Of the 265 referral clicks to my website, referrals coming from Twitter accounted for about 19% of those clicks

Understanding that I’m not throwing up huge numbers here, my site has also had direct hits in the past 7 days, but these are referral clicks which would be where my Twitter clicks came from. I think it’s pretty neat that in the course of 7 days, almost 1/5 of the referrals to my blog came from Twitter, when only 2 weeks ago I had zero activity on it! I am excited to have it in my research arsenal.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

very interesting! Personally, I prefer the approach of just posting the URL in the profile rather than calling attention to blog posts. I feel like if someone wants to read my posts, they will do so. It actually turns me off when people tweet about every single blog post they write – I mean, why syndicate through RSS if you do that? Exceptions to me are if the post is related to a conversation or something unique (like Colin’s new report or your tweet about this twitter-related blog post). My two cents. Anyway, thanks for posting & thanks for tweeting 🙂

Comment by kaye sweetser

Amybeth how does this compare to other sources for instance inbound traffic from your LinkedIn page or Facebook profile?

Comment by Ged Carroll

Ged, that is a great question, and unfortunately I don’t have an answer. I haven’t ever tracked that information and I suppose I should somehow!

Comment by Amybeth

I have found Twitter to be a useful tool to generate traffic myself, but I don’t keep up with stats that much – at least not for awhile.

I disagree with Kaye. I know many folks use Twitter instead of a feed reader to identify content to read.

Comment by Daniel Johnson, Jr.




Leave a Reply

