Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Blogging, Money, and Politics
March 28, 2008, 7:00 am
Filed under: Article Reviews, Blogging

Alright, I’ll admit I’ve become a bit of a TechCrunch junkie as of late, but I think there’s a ton of great stuff on the site that is completely relevant to internet research blogging topics. I thought this particular post was fantastic as Arrington rants a little bit about how money and politics in big money blogging taint the original purpose of a blog, which is to express an opinion. He talks about bloggers doing battle amongst themselves, taking potshots at each other over emotional issues. He believes it’s good for them to duke it out, so long as there are “no loose ends dangling about” afterward (in other words, speak your peace, then let it go). I like his description of the blogosphere, calling it “a frontier town with no lawman.” This apparently happens in all industries where bloggers are gaining more popularity and demanding higher pay for their activity.

As a nice aside, Arrington impressed me in the middle of his rant talking about a pay-it-forward that he does: “…when I see a young but promising blogger, I’ll start linking to him or her constantly to build them up (others, like Winer, Scoble, Jarvis and Rubel did that for me)…” I think that’s nice, and it shows that he hasn’t forgotten where he came from.

Read the whole article here– it puts current blogging into perspective.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

