Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Ask And You Shall Receive
April 20, 2008, 10:00 pm
Filed under: Education, Networking/Social Media, Research | Tags:

Those of you who have been following me on Twitter know that I will be attending the Web 2.0 Expo in San Francisco this week – woo hoo! But what you don’t know is WHY – or HOW – I am going. And the story of how this all came about is pretty fantastic.

I have been seeing lots of people talking about this conference. It’s the gold standard for social media and internet geeks. If you want to see developers, internet entrepreneurs, social media buffs, big dogs as well as cool new startups, messaging stuff and new kinds of search tools, and the glitterati of Silicon Valley, the San Francisco Web 2.0 is where it’s at. Well, being a fan of social media myself, I was itching to go. My company, Waggener Edstrom, is very supportive of its employees in learning and growing and we are encouraged to attend conferences where we can learn our trade. However, I have already committed to attending a couple other conferences this year, and I would not be able to attend Web 2.0 under normal circumstances. I was bummed about this as I kept listening to people talk about all the cool stuff that’s going to be happening at and around this conference. On Tuesday morning while conducting a search for one of my recruiters, I stumbled across a list of attendees to the Mashable and Chi.mp after-party, Evolve, taking place on Wednesday the 23rd. This was apparently the last straw for me. As a joke, I typed up in my Twhirl window, “Would anyone care to sponsor me to attend the Web 2.0 conference? :D”  never in a million years expecting anyone to take me up on the offer. Boy, was I wrong! I received a direct message not 5 minutes later saying, “We might be interested in covering your T&E [travel & expenses] in exchange for you covering the event for us.”

OMG!

What had started off as a whimsical fantasy just became reality. Someone was actually going to sponsor me to attend the Web 2.0 Expo in San Francisco! And that someone is none other than Mr. David Manaster, of ERE Media. So in exchange for this, I will be checking out the conference and writing some articles from a recruiting and research standpoint – what technologies will be useful to those of us in the recruiting world, how the things that are changing online are going to affect the way we do our jobs, etc. I will be twittering throughout the event, and I’ll also be breaking out my video camera from time to time as I come across interesting people.

My company has been incredibly cool about this. After all, it’s a GREAT story, plus we’ll get some excellent press as well! I’m also hoping to rub elbows with some PR folks while I’m out there (BTW, if any of you PR people reading this are going to be at the conference, please get in touch with me – I’d love to meet you!). This is a complete win-win-win for all involved, and I couldn’t be happier!

The biggest lesson to be learned here is to ALWAYS ask. You just never know what’s available to you unless you ask. When you don’t ask, you can’t possibly receive. You won’t always get an answer you’d like, but every now and then (as with this!) you’ll get a pleasant surprise.

Please stay tuned to ERE as I will be posting up articles and other stuff during and following the conference. Big thanks to Dave and Todd at ERE, as well as to my coworkers for being incredibly supportive, and I am looking forward to a fantastic event!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Girl, you have an awesome God! He’s so good to you. I know you’ll have a great time in San Fran. Looking forward to watching the updates.

Comment by Kim Haynes

This is obviously awesome – but I’m really just thrilled to see your full transparency. You’re accepting a perk from an organization & you’re totally letting your readers know about it. No man behind the curtain pulling the puppet strings here. Long live social media ethics!! Have fun in SF.

Comment by kaye sweetser

[…] Ugly  12.  Talentdrive gets a facelift (Its more than just a pretty face)  13.  The goddess is Twitteriffic 14. Stuck in a job without the possibility of a raise yet, I am content 15. For women, pay drops as […]

Pingback by The Week In Recruiting (Reading the blogs, so you don’t have to…) | Jim Stroud's The Recruiters Lounge

You go girl! That’s awesome and we shall meet again in SFO!!

Comment by Suzy T

Waiting for you next post on Web2.0 Conf…Hope you get some good stuff out goddess !!

Comment by Srinivas G

“Whatever the mind can conceive and believe it can achieve.” – Napoleon Hill

Comment by Tim Welch

Amybeth, you know I am a big fan of yours and have been watching your Twitter reports. Very much looking forward to your upcoming articles.

Dave and the folks at ERE, you guys are awesome!

Comment by MN Headhunter/Paul DeBettignies

What an amazing story and you are right Amybeth excellent lesson to always ask. Hope you have an awesome time at Web 2.0. From what i have read it looks like it is an amazing conference.

Comment by Steve Zimmerman

ERE Inside Recruiting’s Tricks of the Trade feed has become noticeably better since you started contributing. Let’s all lobby Manaster to keep paying you to attend conferences so you can keep finding these sourcing & web 2.0 gems!

Comment by Glenn Gutmacher




Leave a Reply

