Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Michael Marlatt Rocks SourceCon
September 8, 2008, 10:00 am
Filed under: Networking/Social Media, Recruiting, Research, SourceCon, Technology, Thoughts | Tags:

Apologies for the lateness of my post! Those of you who know me know that I’ve been spending a fair amount of time in DC this summer, and that’s where I went after SourceCon for the weekend. HOWEVER – I have to say that SourceCon was awesome! And if you didn’t go – figure out a way to get to SC ’09 because you seriously missed out this year.

There are most likely several posts of overviews of the conference, and please also stay tuned for the September issue of The Source for some additional thoughts on it, so I wanted to take this opportunity to highlight my favorite session from the event – Michael Marlatt‘s presentation of Web 2.0 technology in recruiting, Sourcing Beyond Recruiting 2.0. I enjoyed so many sessions, but this particular topic is near and dear to my heart because I use so many of the types of tools Michael laid out in my every day function. Michael didn’t do a “web 2.0 recruiting” session on ‘this is Facebook, this is how you create an account on Facebook’ or something similar with using LinkedIn. I understand the need for such training sessions, but for me personally they don’t do a bit of good. I already know how to create a profile, and search using the resource’s search function, and add friends, and join groups. I want MORE! 🙂

 

What Michael did was paint a picture of the future of our function based on the use, and mashup, of various tools that are available out there. He used the term “cloud recruiting” as derived from “cloud computing“. He discussed the virtualization of recruiting, and how far we’ve come just in the last couple of years with technology to make our jobs simpler. Michael even drew an example of future technology where you could have a job alert set up on your phone, and a notification if someone fitting the requirements happens to be in the vicinity. This is not so futuristic, he told us, as ideas like this are already being worked on (Dave Copps I’m sure will agree with that – he too had a fantastic keynote presentation on semantic search).

Something I took to heart (and I’m sure many in the audience did as well) was what Michael said about RSS: “If you are a sourcer and you don’t use RSS, you should put a question mark after your job title.” OUCH 🙂 Thankfully, I’m an avid RSS user for many different reasons – keeping up with the recruiting trends, keeping up with the PR industry, using articles to do name gathering and research, keeping track of who is reading and quoting me, etc.

In my opinion, Michael’s presentation topped the charts because he gave a nod to the past, as well as the present, but his focus was on the future of these tools and that’s where we all need to be looking. Kudos to you, Michael. I can’t wait to see more!

Please keep your eye out later this week for the new The Source newsletter, and also watch for other posts that are sure to be popping up this week!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I agree 100%. He was a riveting speaker with fascinating content. I also thought he had the right attitude about all this cool, bleeding edge technology: you don’t have to (and shouldn’t) use it all. Take some time up front to analyze whether a new tool is worth the time, money, and effort to use.

At one point he said something like “I find it surprising that people in our roles don’t have a 10-15% budget for R&D.”

-Scott

Comment by Scott Hajer

I agree wholeheartedly! Michael Marlatt rocked the casbah!!!

Comment by Jim Stroud

Amybeth,

From a technological perspective, it as if like Michael Marlatt was presenting to the entire group dressed in ” White Tie with Tails” and I was just-a-sittin there in an old T-shirt, with plaid Bermuda shorts, and “brown shoes.” Yikes! Now just where did I misplace my “A Game?”

Ray aka VirtualSourcer
+++

Comment by Ray Towle

Michael Marlatt Rocks SourceCon? Yeah, I’d say so.

Comment by Amitai Givertz

Amybeth,

SourceCon sounds like it was awesome. I am really hoping to make it next year – thanks for all your tweets.

Katharine – aka TheSourceress

Comment by Katharine Robinson

[…] Michael Marlatt Rocks SourceCon « Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess There are most likely several posts of overviews of the conference, and please also stay tuned for the September issue of The Source for some additional thoughts on it, so I wanted to take this opportunity to highlight my favorite session from the event – Michael Marlatt’s presentation of Web 2.0 technology in recruiting, Sourcing Beyond Recruiting 2.0. I enjoyed so many sessions, but this particular topic is near and dear to my heart because I use so many of the types of tools Michael laid out in my every day function. […]

Pingback by Michael Marlatt Rocks SourceCon « Amybeth Hale - Research Goddess : Cloud Recruiting

[…] be more flattered to have my name in lights with the likes of his other Think Tank members — Amybeth Hale, Dan Harris, Eric Jaquith, Geoff Peterson, Jeremy Langhans, Jim Stroud, Josh Kahn, Leslie […]

Pingback by Cloud Recruiting, Cloud Computing, and a Rant in Time for Christmas | Amitai Givertz's Recruitomatic Blog




Leave a Reply

