Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Tag, Now I’m It
November 18, 2008, 1:00 am
Filed under: Networking/Social Media, Thoughts

This chick Jessica Lee left a comment on my most recent video post. Didn’t she read my post about opportunistic commenters? 🙂 Just kidding – Jessica is a dear recruiting and PR colleague – so I will humor her and keep this alive.

I do believe that I participated in something like this back in December of 2006, except that I had to share five random things about myself as opposed to seven. I think stuff like this every once in awhile is entertaining, because it gives you the reader a glimpse into who I am on a more personal level. This puts a bit of reality into the posts I normally do on the topics of social media, PR, and internet research.

So, without further adieu, the rules:

  • Link your original tagger(s), and list these rules on your blog.
  • Share seven facts about yourself in the post – some random, some weird.
  • Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
  • Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs and/or twitter.

Seven things you may or may not have known about me:

  • I was an all-county oboist in high school. I even made my own reeds. For those who don’t know what an oboe is, there’s a Disney cartoon that was made in 1946 called “Peter and the Wolf“, and the oboe is the instrument of the duck.
  • I’ve been SCUBA diving in the Cayman Islands. Yeah, those of you who are divers are feeling a little jealous right now – the Cayman Trench is arguably the best diving in the Eastern hemisphere.
  • In middle school, I was the trifecta über-nerd: I was smart, chubby, and my mom taught at the same school I attended. She would know if I’d done something wrong before I even executed it, so I never even tried. Those were three years of ultimate hell on earth for me, socially. I’ve tried to discard all photos from those awkward years; sadly, my mom still has lots of them. But they are hidden!
  • I dislocated my knee at age 11 by trying to put on a pair of shorts. Yeah – completely lame…ever tried to put on a pair of pants that were JUST a little too small? You hop around the room trying to somehow squeeze into them – well, that’s how it happened. Not my most  graceful moment!
  • Last summer was the first time I’d ever ridden a rollercoaster. No joke! Now I absolutely love them.
  • I played powder puff football my senior year in high school. That’s where the boys dress as cheerleaders and the girls put on helmets and go at it. They put me on the O-line opposite a VERY large junior girl who mowed me down on every play. I thought I was athletic until then!
  • I’m heading to South Africa on November 20th with 200 other folks on an aid trip to build homes, plant gardens, and bring some much needed love and joy to the community of Mamelodi. If you didn’t know this about me yet, you must be a brand-new reader 🙂

From here, I will faithfully submit the following bloggers as the next to be tagged:

By the way, I will put a plug in for each of these bloggers – they are worth adding to your RSS feed. They’re all on mine!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, such an interesting background! …your powder-puff football experience reminded me of my senior year. i was actually a powder-puff cheerleader my senior year and it was absolutely hilarious-fun times.

Btw, make sure to take lots of photos while you’re in South Africa and know that you have a fan base that will be cheering for you!

Comment by Michael Marlatt

[…] few weeks ago, Amybeth Hale – THE Research Goddess herself – tagged me in a post on her blog to share seven things about myself. Yesterday, one of my new favorite friends Shannon Paul did the […]

Pingback by 7 Deep, Dark Secrets About Me « David Mullen

[…] few weeks ago, Amybeth Hale – THE Research Goddess herself – tagged me in a post on her blog to share seven things about myself. Yesterday, one of my new favorite friends Shannon Paul did the […]

Pingback by 7 Deep, Dark Secrets About Me | Communications Catalyst




Leave a Reply

