Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


2009 In Closing: Life Is Wonderful
January 4, 2009, 6:00 am
Filed under: Thoughts

Lots of my friends have been making resolutions and reflecting back on 2009 as a difficult year. I think it was tough in different ways for just about everyone. I had my fair share of hardships this year as well: I got laid off, some wonderful relationships soured, and I had to say goodbye to one of my precious kitties, among other things. But I also found a fantastic position that I love, I got to serve a community in Nicaragua, and I started a new chapter of my life in a brand new part of the country. I think back to an old movie called Parenthood, where the grandmother talks about the roller coaster as compared to the merry-go-round at a carnival. She says the roller coaster is frightening, going up and down, to the point where she felt exhilarated and frightened all in the same moment. She goes on to say that the merry-go-ground is certainly safer, but not as much fun because it just goes around, never really gets anywhere. Such is life.

I think years like 2009 have to happen in order for us to appreciate the really awesome times. We can look at the ups and downs in our lives and say “I wish this-or-that hadn’t happened”, or “I would have done things differently…”. I personally think we need difficulty in our lives to build our strength and stamina in order to achieve our ultimate purpose in life. Much like a butterfly emerging from a cocoon – it must struggle to free itself in order to pump fluids into its wings and be able to fly away to serve the purpose of the remainder of its life. Without hardships, we wouldn’t be equipped to appreciate the joyous moments of our own lives. We wouldn’t be able to empathize with and help other people dealing with similar situations. And we wouldn’t be able to move forward with greater wisdom and drive.

And so, to close out my own 2009, I would like to offer you how I’ve viewed the past 12 months in a song called Life Is Wonderful, by Jason Mraz.

“It takes a thought to make a word
And it takes some words to make an action
And it takes some work to make it work
It takes some good to make it hurt
It takes some bad for satisfaction.”

Life is Wonderful. Cherish all of it – even the rough parts, because failure only happens when you fail to learn from your experiences and press forward. Happy 2010!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

