Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


This One Goes Out To The One(s) I Love
February 14, 2009, 5:30 pm
Filed under: Networking/Social Media

February 14th. It’s just another day on the calendar to me, but there are certain folks (ahem, Hallmark) who feel like we need to have a(nother) holiday to show those who are important to us just how much we care. It just so happens to be my best friend’s birthday as well, and she is turning 30 this year, so I’ll be hanging out with her at a Pat Buzzard concert in Columbus tonight. Many of your poor suckers are going to be strapped with buying up boxes of chocolate, expensive jewelry, bouquets of roses, and spending absurd amounts of money on fancy dinners, entertainment, and God only know what else. Good luck to ya! 🙂

However, not to be completely excluded from the fun and merriment, I’ve decided to make a February 14th dedication post to some of the folks who’ve shown me some love along my career path. Some folks you may know, others you may not, but these are some of the people to whom I owe lots-a-love!

  1. Christy Sibert: Christy is my sister-in-law, and she’s the catalyst for my career in internet research. She called me up when I was living in Tampa, 1 1/2 years after graduating from U of FL still waiting tables, and asked me if I’d be interested in doing something called “internet research” for the recruiting company she was with at the time.
  2. Bruce Sibert and Jeff Joiner: Bruce (my brother) gets love because he’s family – naturally – but also because he opened the door for me to a group of wonderfully intelligent people who’ve helped educate me on good business sense and thought process. One of these people is Jeff Joiner, and I owe all of my quotable quotes to him. Whenever you hear some profound thought come out of my mouth, chances are I heard it first from Jeff. He has been a financial advisor as well as a great help for me in getting over my fear of public speaking.
  3. Jon and Melissa Bartos: The Bartos’ own Jonathan Scott International, the place where I cut my teeth on internet research. I owe them love for taking a chance and moving me up from Florida to Cincinnati to work for them.
  4. Heidi Bolinger: Heidi is the first internet researcher I met in my new job, and she helped explain to me exactly what an internet researcher does. She also worked with me to help bring an internet researcher networking group back to life and get us some training through our franchise system. I owe her love for being a friend all these years and being my first connection to the world of internet research.
  5. Tom and Amy Johnston: Tom and Amy own SearchPath International, the second place I worked doing internet research. I owe them love for giving me my first opportunity to work remotely, and for opening their home to me when I would go to Cleveland for office visits.
  6. Joel Cheesman: he grows tired of this, but I owe MUCH love to Joel for inspiring me to blog. He took time out of his busy schedule during one of my trips to Cleveland to meet with me and show me the ropes. Much of the rest of my career is owed to him and I am forever grateful.
  7. Jim Stroud: Jim gets a lot of love coming from me because he took me under his wing as a young researcher and showed me the benefits of networking within our industry. He mentored me early on in my career and introduced me to many other fantastic folks in the recruiting world, such as Shally Steckerl, Donato DiOrio, Rob McIntosh, Dave Manaster, Suzy Tonini (my camping buddy), and many others, all of whom get a love shout-out as well. Even though Jim has leaned more toward social media these days, we have remained fast friends and I always appreciate his wisdom and guidance.
  8. Leslie O’Connor: Leslie is the mastermind behind SourceCon, and successful in her own right with her business, SearchWizards. Leslie gave me my first opportunity at conference presentation at the first SourceCon. She’s also given me the opportunity to edit an industry newsletter-turned-blog, The Source. Leslie gets love for living by Florence Luscomb‘s saying, “There is no end to what you can accomplish if you don’t care who gets the credit.”
  9. Daniele Joudene and Nikole Hunt: Daniele and Nikole are colleagues of mine at Waggener Edstrom, my current place of employment. They both get tons of love because they took a chance on hiring me for the role of sourcing strategist, even though I didn’t exactly fit the description of what they were looking for.I feel like I’ve found a home at Waggener and am grateful to have been given the opportunity.
  10. David Almacy, Rob Curran, and Mark Martin: David, Rob, and Mark are also Waggener Edstrom colleagues. Mark is my official Waggener mentor, and I met David for the first time when he gave a presentation to the Cincinnati PRSA. Rob interviewed me when I was looking to work at Waggener. They each get love because they have both helped me become interested and involved in other parts of the company outside of Staffing. They’ve encouraged me to pursue building internal relationships with coworkers in different locations and have made working at Waggener extra rewarding for me.
  11. Daniel Johnson, Jr.: DJJ gets the final love shout-out because he introduced me to Twitter. ‘Nuff said 🙂

Please let someone who helped you in your career know you appreciate them today!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Amybeth!Thanks for the love and we have to do some fun outdoorsy stuff again and you know you are always welcome in my neck of the woods 🙂

If it makes you feel better, no chocolates, expensive jewelry, roses or gifts for me- don’t need them. Life is good!!:-)

Comment by Suzy T

Aww, shucks, Amybeth! Thanks for the shout-out!

Comment by Daniel Johnson, Jr.

Jeepers! *blush* Thanks Amybeth…

Jim

Comment by Jim Stroud

This is a great idea for a post. And I would second Daniel Johnson Jr as being a great Cincinnati Social Media evangelist. He reconnected me to what was going on in my own back yard.

Comment by Kevin Dugan

Thanks for the shout out AB. You were a fantastic candidate for the role and have exceeded our expectations. I’m so glad you were open to taking a chance with us:)

Comment by Nikole

Thanks for the shoutout Amybeth!! Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

And I’m in for the next camping trip with Tonini!

Comment by Leslie O'Connor

Amybeth, Thank you for the shoutout.. You have also helped me out alot with my career and given me a lot of good advice..

Thank You..

Comment by Heidi Bolinger




Leave a Reply

