Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Searching Using Koders
April 5, 2009, 8:00 pm
Filed under: Cool Tool Alert, Research

2 years ago I submitted an entry into AIRS Xtreme Sourcing Games contest. I won Runner-Up for the contest and my prize was being able to take the classes to earn the CIR designation through AIRS. A couple of nights ago, I was chatting with my new boss, Chris Hoyt – aka The Recruiter Guy – and I shared this technique with him. He liked it, and I thought I’d go ahead and share the technique here!

This is a specialized search technique, as Koders.com is “the leading search engine for open source and other down-loadable code… Used by tens of thousands of developers each day.” So, this will work for those of you who are searching for software and/or web developers. Enjoy!

from 2007…

I use Koders.com to find software engineers and programmers. I use the string “*@gmail.com” or “*@yahoo.com” or substitute the @ for (at) (since a lot of programmers list their email address using (at) to avoid bots) and I select the programming language I desire (ex, C#). The reason for this is because programmers will often “stamp” their code with ownership by including their name and email address. I also use either 2006 or 2006..2007 to make sure the information returned is recent. Once email addresses are returned, I either run a web search based on the email address or I search for the name returned as the author. For example: 

koders search

And the results…

koders screenshot

 

 “*@gmail.com” 2006 run under the programming language of C# returned this in the results: 

 Mpeg4Properties.cs 

 /*************************************************************************** 

     copyright            : (C) 2006 by Dan Poage      dan.poage@gmail.com 

     copyright            : (C) 2006 by Brian Nickel   brian.nickel@gmail.com 

  ***************************************************************************/ 

 Language: C# 

 License: LGPL 

 (C) 2006 by Brian Nickel brian.nickel@gmail.com… 

 LOC: 67 

 Google : alexandrialibrary – Alexandria Media Library (project search) : …/trunk/src/Alexandria.TagLib/Mpeg4/Mpeg4Properties.cs 

 

After finding this information, I ran a search on the email address for Brian Nickel and came to his homepage on Arizona State University’s public site: 

Brian Nickel websiteHere, all of his email and instant messenger contact information is listed. I learned that he desires to design websites. I decided to click on his blog link and found this: 

Brian's blog

 His most recent post was about 4 days ago, so he is active. I clicked on his About page and learned a little about Brian – his interests, the fact that he grew up close to ASU, etc. 

 I now have enough information to contact him and know a little about his skills.

 

**Hat-tip to Jim Stroud for showing me Koders in the first place…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

