Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


This Contraption Doesn’t Work!
May 29, 2009, 10:30 am
Filed under: Networking/Social Media, Technology, Thoughts

I needed to open a can of tuna the other day. So, I reached into my utensil drawer and looked for my can opener. That did the trick.

Had I reached for a spoon, I would have had a difficult time opening that can. I would have said of the spoon, “This thing doesn’t work! It’s not opening this @*&#%#^ can, so it’s obviously a worthless utensil!”

How stupid does that sound? Everyone know that using a spoon to open a can isn’t going to work. Yet, I hear so many people say of varying social media tools “It doesn’t work!” when what’s really going on is they’ve reached for the wrong tool to do a job.

Not every tool is going to work for the purposes for which you want to use it. For example, if you recruit in the construction industry, chances are you’re not going to find Twitter to be a very useful tool. HOWEVER – that doesn’t mean that Twitter doesn’t work. It’s a fantastic communication tool for networking with PR, marketing, communications, and technical professionals. For those working in those industries, it works.

I’m tired of listening to people spout off about how social media is a waste of time when it comes to recruiting. Any resource that facilitates communication with people is going to be helpful to someone. I hope the day comes when recruiting professionals realize that social media tools are just another means of communication with their target audience and not some grand candidate databases contrived just for their perusal. You must ENGAGE. You can’t just sit back, spew forth YOUR agenda, and expect it to work. Would you attend a friend’s party, stand in the middle of the room, and shout your current job openings at everyone there? Didn’t think so.

These thoughts are just part of what I have planned for my pre-conference workshop, Incorporating Social Media Into Your Recruiting Plan, coming up at the Fordyce Forum on June 10th. If you’re going to be there, please let me know! If not, please follow my #VegasRG hashtag to see what’s going on. I’ve got some fun stuff planned!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

