Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess


Heading to Nicaragua Next Week
August 12, 2009, 8:00 am
Filed under: Networking/Social Media

Next week, I am going to be participating in a mission trip to Nicaragua from August 16th – 23rd. I am joining about 10 other individuals from the Cincinnati area, and together with a group of about 30 people from Atlanta we are flying to Managua, Nicaragua and continuing on to Chinandega, which is in the western part of the country.

Nicaragua

Some of the things we’ll be doing will include:

  • Building homes, schools, health clinics, churches, and business cooperatives
  • Planting and cultivating crops
  • Drilling water wells and developing distribution systems
  • Educating with books, games, and activities in the schools and communities
  • Providing free surgical services, and providing training to Nicaraguan counterparts
  • Practicing family medicine and dentistry with the mobile clinic that visits several rural communities

The group we are partnering with is called Amigos For Christ. Amigos for Christ is an interdenominational service ministry that focuses on strengthening families in Nicaragua who are without resources by supporting community housing, medical, educational, clean water, small business cooperatives, and agricultural programs. This is similar to the mission of the trip I went on last year to South Africa, but with a much smaller group and much fewer resources. Plus, it’s going to be about 95 degrees with about 100% humidity there 🙂 We have been instructed to get the strongest insect repellent possible, and I have had to take anti-malaria pills prior to our departure to ensure good health.

I am going to try to send a few pictures back while I’m in Nicaragua via TwitPic, so keep an eye out for updates there. I’ve also been able to secure a partial international data plan for my iPhone through AT&T while I’m there in order to stay somewhat connected and share my experiences, and I’ll be sure to share more when I return.

So for those of you who pray, send a few up for us as we’re traveling and doing our projects. I look forward to recapping my trip when I return!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think this is amazing!! I can’t wait to hear about the experience.

Comment by Andrea Holtman

Just found your new blog…Awesome. What a delight to be able to make such a huge difference. I’m sure you’ll have a thrill and enjoy Nicaragua, even the 95 degree weather. I’ll be in Dubai from Sep. 1-3 and I just heard it was 115 degrees there last week!

Comment by Herman Najoli

Get ready to see a gorgeous country with extremely friendly people. Try to make it to San Juan del Sur if you can, it is quite different than Chinandega and offers a variety of fun activities. Check out http://www.sanjuandelsurguide.com

Comment by Nicaragua Travel Information

You are headed to a beautiful country full of friendly people…have a blast!

Comment by Nicaragua Travel Information

Good luck on your mission trip to Nicaragua and your upcoming move to Washington. Having also spent time in nearby Costa Rica, South Africa, and the Pacific Northwest, I know you’re in for a real adventure !

Teresa Harmeyer

Comment by Teresa Harmeyer

Wow! So proud of you!!!!!!!!!

-Jim

Comment by Jim Stroud

[…] Heading to Nicaragua Next Week […]

Pingback by Virtual Balls « Amybeth Hale – Research Goddess




Leave a Reply

